Member countries
India, Indonesia, Maldives, Pakistan, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Viet Nam

MFF began in 2006 by engaging the countries worst-affected by the Indian Ocean tsunami: India, Indonesia, Maldives, Seychelles, Sri Lanka and Thailand. Then in 2010, MFF expanded to include Pakistan and Viet Nam. Member countries are formally invited into MFF at their government’s request. Each member country is supported by in-country coordinating staff, and also share the available funds for national and regional coastal projects. Country representatives are members of MFF’s Regional Steering Committee.

Outreach countries
Bangladesh, Cambodia, Myanmar, Timor-Leste

MFF extends support to a number of other Asian countries for which poverty, vulnerability to natural disasters and climate change are major concerns. These outreach countries—currently Bangladesh, Cambodia, Myanmar and Timor-Leste—are invited to participate in MFF regional events (such as training courses and symposia), and attend meetings of MFF’s Regional Steering Committee as observers.

Dialogue countries
Kenya, Malaysia, Tanzania

MFF engages with other countries and regions to promote an integrated ocean-wide approach to coastal resources management. MFF provides dialogue countries with information and advice on coastal issues, encourages them to participate in MFF regional events, but does not provide financial assistance directly. Besides the current three dialogue countries of Kenya, Malaysia and Tanzania, MFF is also advising countries in other regions, such as the Pacific, on replicating the MFF approach.