Barcelona Convention

25 October 2012 | Article



Amended in 1995, the Barcelona Convention [1] of 1976 and its seven technical protocols aim to reduce pollution and protect the marine environment in the Mediterranean, in order to contribute to its sustainable development.

The main goals of this regional legal instrument consist of:

— assessing and controlling pollution,

— ensuring sustainable management of natural marine and coastal resources,

— integrating the environment into social and economic development,

— protecting the marine environment and coastal zones through prevention and reduction of pollution,

— protecting the natural and cultural heritage, and strengthening solidarity among neighbouring countries.

The Barcelona Convention encourages its 22 [2] Contracting Parties to cooperate in all the various fields and set up an on-going information and monitoring system for pollution.

In addition to its field of application which was also extended to cover coastal zones, the modifications introduced in 1995 took into account the principles of preventive measures and compensation to be paid by polluters, while emphasizing the promotion of impact studies, the protection and preservation of biological diversity, the fight against pollution caused by transboundary movements of hazardous waste, access to information, and the participation of the public.

[1] Convention on the protection of the marine and coastal environment in the Mediterranean.

[2] Albania, Algeria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, European Union, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Slovenia, Spain, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey.

Mediterranean landscape