The SSC Chair's Citation of Excellence, created in 2004, is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to SSC.

Award: Certificate


Febuary 2014
Professor Gordon McGregor Reid,
In recognition for his exemplary, visionary and charismatic leadership of the Freshwater Fish Specialist Group, between 2004 and 2013.

Febuary 2012
IUCN Global Species Programme Freshwater Biodiversity Unit,
In recognition of their exceptional leadership of the African Freshwater Biodiversity Assessment in collaboration with many SSC Members and partners.
Dr Frédéric Launay, In recognition of his strategic vision and long-term and committed service to the SSC, in particular as Chair of the Reintroduction Specialist Group and as a member of the SSC Steering Committee.
Dr Gabriela Lichtenstein, In recognition of her committed and courageous service of the SSC as Chair of the South American Camelid Specialist Group.
Dr Patricia Moehlman, In recognition of her long-term chairing of the SSC Equid Specialist Group, and her leadership of wild equid conservation in some of the most challenging regions of the world.
Dr Sanjay Molur, In recognition of his extraordinary commitment to promoting the work of many SSC Specialist Groups in South Asia, and to advancing the Red List process nationally, regionally and globally.
Caroline Pollock, In recognition of her outstanding dedication to the IUCN Red List over many years, her exceptional support and encouragement to SSC members, and her pioneering of Red List training.
Dr Randall Reeves, In recognition of his leadership of whale and dolphin conservation worldwide, and his exceptional service as Chair of the SSC Cetacean Specialist Group over many years.
Sampled Red List Index for Plants Project Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, In recognition of their pioneering work in advancing plant assessments for the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.
Dr Andrew Smith, In recognition of his long-term involvement in mammal conservation in many parts of the world, especially China, and his exemplary chairing of the SSC Lagomorph Specialist Group over many years.
Dr Jane Smart, In recognition of her exceptional leadership of the IUCN engagement with the negotiations on the Strategic Plan of the Convention on Biological Diversity, and her unfailing championing of species and biodiversity within the IUCN Secretariat.
Pritpal Singh Soorae, In recognition of his leadership of the Global Reintroduction Perspectives series, and his outstanding work as Programme Officer of the SSC Reintroduction Specialist Group over many years.
Dr Jean-Christophe Vié, In recognition of his persistence, tenacity and skill in negotiating the establishment of the Save Our Species (SOS) Fund, and his long-term and committed support of the Species Survival Commission.
Prof Grahame Webb, In recognition of his leadership to crocodilian conservation worldwide, his long-term service as Chair of the SSC Crocodile Specialist Group, and his thoughtful engagement with SSC on sustainable use.
Doreen Zivkovic, In recognition of her unique and much-loved style of caring for and amusing the members of the SSC and the staff of the IUCN Species Programme over 24 years.

October 2008 
Dr Luigi Boitani, Chair of the IUCN/SSC Restructuring Task Force and Large Carnivore Initiative for Europe Working Group, in recognition of his important work in preparing SSC for ever greater impact in the future.
Mrs Carol Poole, SSC Chair's Assistant, in recognition of her dedication and never-ending support, first and foremost to the SSC Chair, as well as for the SSC Steering Committee and the Commission Members – demonstrated most memorably through her flawless organization of our historic meeting in Al Ain.
Dr Stuart Butchart
, Red List Authority for birds, in recognition of his pioneering work on behalf of the SSC in developing the IUCN Red List Index, which has become a valuable contribution to global species conservation efforts.
Dr Jonathan Baillie, in recognition of his dedication to SSC and unparalleled work on the development of species-based indicators, including the IUCN Sampled Red List Index.
Dr Richard Kock & Dr William Karesh, Co-Chairs of the IUCN/SSC Wildlife Health Specialist Group, in recognition of their cutting-edge work on emerging infectious diseases and the opening of constructive dialogue with the pharmaceutical industry.
Dr Claudio Campagna and Dr Yvonne Sadovy, Co-Chairs of the IUCN/SSC Marine Conservation Sub-Committee in recognition of their dedication to providing more data and information on the emerging threats to the marine species on Earth.
The entire Species Conservation Planning Task Force, in recognition of their diligence and enthusiasm in compiling best practice guidelines on species-specific conservation planning and delivering these as a lasting contribution to species across the world.
Dr Bibhab Talukdar, Chair of the IUCN/SSC Asian Rhino Specialist Group in recognition of his unfailing leadership of the Asian Rhino Specialist Group under difficult circumstances.
Dr Urs Breitenmoser and Dr Christine Breitenmoser, Co-Chairs of the IUCN/SSC Cat Specialist Group, in recognition of their dedicated leadership of the Cat Specialist Group, their many conservation contributions and particularly for their ongoing battle on behalf of the Iberian Lynx.

November 2004
Ms Carolina Caceres, former Assistant to previous SSC Chair, David Brackett, renowned for her efficient running of the Chair's Office and her extensive knowledge of the SSC network and its issues.
Dr Rachel Cavanagh, Programme Officer for the Shark Specialist Group and charismatic and effective advocate of shark conservation.
Dr Peter Garson, Chair of the Pheasant Specialist Group, for dynamic leadership and coordination of the work of SSC's Galliform Specialist Groups, and for keeping SSC "on its toes!"
Dr Mike Maunder, Co-Chair of the SSC Plant Conservation Committee (PCC). For standing in for Dr David Given as Chair of the PCC, and his championing of plant conservation worldwide.
Dr Simon Stuart, Head of the IUCN/SSC-CI/CABS Biodiversity Assessment Unit and former Head of the IUCN Species Programme. For his outstanding achievement in delivering the Global Amphibian Assessment.