Amphibians and Reptiles

Orange-eyed green tree frog

Amphibian Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Phil Bishop and Ariadne Angulo
Contacts: Phil Bishop, +64 3 479 7990
Ariadne Angulo

Red List Authority Coordinator: Jennifer Luedtke
Amphibian Specialist Group 
Amphibian Red List Authority

Anolis gorgonae

Anoline Lizard Specialist Group

Co-chairs: María del Rosario Castañeda and Luke Mahler
Contacts:  María del Rosario Castañeda; and Luke Mahler;

Red List Authority Coordinator: Gregory Mayer 

Rainbow Boa (Epicrates assisi)

Boa and Python Specialist Group

Chair: Tomás Waller
Contact: Guillermo Puccio  +54 114 515 0152

Red List Authority Coordinator: Mark Auliya

BPSG Brochure: Download here


Chameleon Specialist Group

Chair: Richard Jenkins

Red List Authority Coordinator: Krystal A. Tolley

Website: Chameleon Specialist Group


Crocodile Specialist Group (Crocodiles, alligators and caimans)

Chair: Grahame Webb,
Contact: Tom Dacey: +61 07 4055 3060;

Red List Authority Coordinator: James Perran Ross
Contact:  +1 352 392 7137

Newsletter: IUCN/SSC Crocodile Specialist Group Newsletter
Publication: Crocodiles: An Action Plan for their Conservation
News: IUCN/SSC Crocodile SG Articles
Crocodile Specialist Group


Iguana Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Stesha Pasachnik and Charles Knapp

Red List Authority Coordinator: Tandora Grant         Contact:

Newsletter: Iguana Specialist Group Newsletter
Publications: West Indian Iguanas: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan 
Mailing list: ISG listserv
Website: Iguana Specialist Group

Marine Turtle

Marine Turtle Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Roderic B. Mast and Paolo Casale 

Contact: Roderic Mast +1 202 642 5835,; Paolo Casale

Red List Authority Coordinator: Bryan Wallace

Newsletter: The Marine Turtle Newsletter
Website: Marine Turtle Specialist Group

Varanus macraei

Monitor Lizard Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Mark Auliya and André Koch
Contact: Mark Auliya -,
André Koch -

Red List Authority Coordinator: Daniel Bennett

sea snake

Sea Snake Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Kate Sanders & Arne Rasmussen
Contacts: Kate Sanders, +61 8 83033997, ;
Arne Rasmussen, +45 41701940,

Red List Authority Coordinator: Amanda Lane

Ghecko head

Snake and Lizard Red List Authority

Red List Authority Coordinator:  Philip Bowles



Viper Specialist Group

Chair: Christopher L. Jenkins
Contact: +1 706 212-0112; Fax: +1 706 212-0113;

Red List Authority Coordinator: Johannes Penner
Contact:  +49 30 2093 7410

Website: Viper Specialist Group

Follow us

Facebook Flickr Twitter Youtube

The Latest Amazing Species

search for species
  • IUCN Red List Logo
Help make a difference!
  • Donate to IUCN Red List