Araripe Manakin

Bird Red List Authority

Chair: Andy Symes
Contact:, +44 1223 279837

Arabian Bustard (Ardeotis arabs)

Bustard Specialist Group

Chair: Nigel Collar
Contact: +44 (0) 1223 279811,

Double-crested Cormorant Bat Impressions

Cormorant Specialist Group

Chair: Mennobart Van Eerden
Contact: +31 (320) 298-331,
: Wetlands International Cormorant Research Group Bulletin
Website: Cormorants


Crane Specialist Group

Chair:  Jim Harris
Contact: +1 608 356 9462,
ICF Bugle
Publication: The Cranes: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Website: Cranes

Great Northern Diver - Common Loon - Gavia immer - Himbrimi

Diver/Loon Specialist Group

Chair: Neil Burgess
Contact: +1 902 426-6356,
Website: Diver and Loons

Mandarin Duck

Duck Specialist Group

Chair: Richard Hearn
Contact: +44 (1453) 891185,
Newsletter: Seaduck Bulletin 


Flamingo Specialist Group

Chair: Rebecca Lee
Contact: +44 1453 891 120,
Newsletter: Flamingo
Website: Flamingos


Goose Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Bart S. Ebbinge and Petr Glazov
Contact: Bart S. Ebbinge +31 317 486 457, ; Petr Glazov
Newsletter: Goose Bulletin


Heron Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: James A. Kushlan and Clay Green
Contact: James Khuslan: +1 410 263 4206,, Clay Green:
Newsletter: Heron Conservation Newsletter
Website: HeronConservation, White-bellied Heron Working Group


Pelican Specialist Group

Chair: Giorgos Catsadorakis
Contact: +30 25540 32491 ; Fax: +30 25540 32420; Mobile: +30 6974667413;
Website: Pelicans

Gentoo Penguin on the beach

Penguin Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Pablo Garcia Borboroglu and Dee Boersma
Contact: Pablo Garcia Borboroglu
Dee Boersma

Scarlet Ibis

Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Luis Santiago Cano Alonso and Gopi Sundar
Contact: Luis Santiago Cano Alonso,
Gopi Sundar,
Newsletter: SIS Newsletter
Website: Stork, Ibis and Spoonbills


Swan Specialist Group

Chair: Eileen Rees
Newsletter: Swan Specialist Group Newsletter
Website: Swans

Red-breasted goose (Branta ruficollis)

Threatened Waterfowl Specialist Group

Chair: Baz Hughes
Contact: +44 771 7431 689
Newsletter: TWSG Bulletin
Website: Threatened Waterfowl

Cape Vulture_SAd_Kempenfeldt, KZN

Vulture Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Andre Botha and Chris Bowden
Contact:  Andre Botha
Chris Bowden


Woodcock and Snipe Specialist Group

Chair: Yves Ferrand
Contact: +33 130 466 016
Contact the chair to receive a copy
Website: Woodcock and Snipe

Follow us

Facebook Flickr Twitter Youtube

The Latest Amazing Species

search for species
  • IUCN Red List Logo
Help make a difference!
  • Donate to IUCN Red List