Children in Solomon Islands.

Oceania is geographically one of IUCN’s largest regional programmes, covering over 100 million square kilometres of the Pacific Ocean. The region comprises Australia, New Zealand and the 22 Pacific Island countries and territories making up Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. The total human population is estimated at approximately 35 million, of whom nearly two thirds are resident in Australia.  Learn more

What's new?

Trainees practicing conducting interviews of a person of interest as part of an investigation at the IUCN-BIOPAMA-ACFEC trainings, October 2014

Training to increase protection of natural resources in the Pacific

Government officials from Fiji, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands and Vanuatu can now better protect the environment and natural resources of their countries, after attending the environmental compliance and enforcement training courses held earlier this month. The two training courses targeted the Pacific Island Countries and were implemented in conjunction with IUCN, BIOPAMA (Biodiversity and Protected Areas Management Programme) and ACFEC (Australian Centre for Environmental Compliance). …  

27 Oct 2014 | Article

Dancers welcoming Mua Voyage sailors to Vanuatu

Mua Voyage pauses in Vanuatu, with Australia next on the horizon

The three vaka canoes sailing on the Mua Voyage have arrived in Port Vila, Vanuatu, and will soon re-launch with southeastern Queensland, Australia, the next destination to hear their message on people, oceans and climate change. …  

21 Oct 2014 | News story

More news
Follow us

  Facebook Flickr Twitter Youtube