National and Regional Committees

IUCN Members within a country or region may choose to organize themselves into National and Regional Committees to facilitate cooperation among Members, and with other parts of the Union, and to support the participation of Members in the Programme and governance of IUCN.

IUCN’s National and Regional Committees can be very different in nature. Some of the Member Committees work to jointly implement projects, whereas others are predominantly vehicles for exchange and networking. The Committees range in size and some even have established secretariats.

Regional Members’ Meetings, such as the Regional Conservation Forums, are usually organized jointly by the Regional Committees and the Secretariat. These offer Members the opportunity to contribute to the development and implementation of the quadrennial IUCN Programme and policy, as well as to prepare them for the World Conservation Congress, the highest organ of IUCN.

Joining National and Regional Committees

Every IUCN Member has the right to join the respective National Committee of its State and participate in the election of only one Regional Committee.

The IUCN Statutes and Regulations provide more information on National and Regional Committees.

Support materials for the establishment and official recognition of Committees are available via your relevant Membership Focal Point.

Committee contacts

IUCN Members, National and Regional Committees, Commission members, Councillors and staff can find the full contact details for existing National and Regional Committees and their officers, on the Union Portal.

External organizations or persons wishing to contact IUCN National or Regional Committees can do so via the relevant Membership Focal Point.

National and Regional Committees:

Officially recognised Regional Committees of IUCN Members:

  • Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Committee
  • West and Central Africa Regional Committee
  • Meso America Regional Committee
  • South America Regional Committee
  • Caribbean Regional Committee
  • South and East Asia Regional Committee
  • West Asia Regional Committee

Officially recognised National Committees of IUCN Members in:

Argentina; Australia; Bangladesh; Bolivia; Botswana; Brazil; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Canada; Colombia; Congo (ROC); Costa Rica; Denmark; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; El Salvador; Finland; France; Guatemala; Guinea Bissau; Honduras; Hungary; India; Israel; Italy; Japan; Jordan; Kenya; Korea (RK); Kuwait; Lebanon; Malawi; Mali; Mexico; Morocco; Mozambique; Nepal; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Pakistan; Panama; Paraguay; Peru; Poland; Russia; Senegal; South Africa; Spain; Sri Lanka; Switzerland; Thailand; The Netherlands; Tunisia; Turkey; United Kingdom; and Zimbabwe.

  • IUCN
Reports to 2012 Congress from IUCN National & Regional Committees