IUCN brings together 100 governmental and non-governmental organizations from across the Eastern and Southern Africa. The region has about 1,000 experts as members of the six IUCN Commissions.

Through the “One-Programme” approach, IUCN offers the unique opportunity for IUCN Members, Commissions and Secretariat staff to work to use their collective strength to address the environment and development issues in the region.

Given its region-wide membership, IUCN is building links between countries in the region and more broadly in Africa through experience sharing, convening multi-stakeholder platforms for consensus building and facilitation of transboundary processes.

Members organize themselves into national and regional Committees and currently ESARO has the IUCN Regional Committee of Eastern and Southern Africa; and National Committees in Botswana, Kenya, Mozambique, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe


IUCN has 100 Members in the Eastern and Southern Africa region spread across 17 of its 23 countries. The region has 11 State Members, 11 Government Agency Members, 5 International NGO Members, 71 NGO Members and 2 Affiliate Members.

For a complete list of IUCN members in Eastern and Southern Africa, click here

To become a member, click here