

106th Meeting of the IUCN Council Marseille, 11 September 2021

DECISIONS¹

Dec. #	Council Decision	
Agenda (Agenda Item 1)		
C106/1	The IUCN Council, Adopts the agenda of its 106 th Meeting. (Annex 1)	
Appointments (Agenda Item 2)		
Councillor from the State in which IUCN has its seat		
C106/2	The IUCN Council, Appoints Mr. Norbert Baerlocher as Councillor from the State in which IUCN has its seat.	
Additional appointed Councillor		
C106/3	The IUCN Council, <u>Appoints</u> Mr. Francisco Ramiro Batzin Chojoj (Guatemala) as additional Councillor in conformity with Article 38 (f) of the Statutes.	
Appointment of Deputy Chairs and members of the steering committees of the IUCN Commissions (Agenda Item 3)		
C106/4 ²	The IUCN Council, In accordance with Regulation 73, with the purpose of enabling the Commissions to be functional as soon as possible following the end of the Congress, pending additional nominations to be made by the Chairs for approval at the first ordinary meeting of the Council (107 th meeting, February 2022) taking into account criteria such as technical qualification, geographic representation and gender equity, On the recommendation of the respective Commission Chair, Appoints the following individuals as:	
	World Commission on Environmental Law (WCEL): Deputy Commission Chair: Ayman Cherkaoui (Morocco/Canada) Members of the Steering Committee: Sheila Abed (Paraguay), Antonio Herman Benjamin (Brazil), Parvez Hassan (Pakistan, ex officio), Nicholas Robinson (USA,	

1

¹ The definitive wording of decisions is subject to Council's approval of the summary minutes in accordance with Regulation 52.

² The Chair of the Species Survival Commission (SSC) expressed the wish to make his nominations for Deputy Chair and members of the Steering Committee at the 107th Council meeting (February 2022). In the meantime, in accordance with Regulation 73, "until the Council appoints their successors, the incumbent Deputy Chair and Steering Committee members shall continue in office".

ex officio), Sandrine Friedli Cela (Switzerland, ex officio), Alejandro Iza (Argentina, ex officio), Rose-Liza Eisma-Osorio (Philippines, ex officio), Elizabeth Maruma Mrema (Tanzania), Nilufer Oral (Turkey), Lavanja Rajamani (India), Agnes Michelot (France), Marina Venâncio (Brazil), James Cameron (UK), Denise Antolini (USA)

- World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA):
 Deputy Commission Chair: Andrew Rhodes Espinoza (Mexico)
 Members of the Steering Committee: Olivier Chassot, (Communications, Costa Rica)
- 3. Commission on Environmental, Economic and Social Policy (CEESP): Deputy Commission Chair: Ameyali Ramos (Mexico) Members of the Steering Committee: Elise Huffer (Regional Vice Chair, Oceania, Fiji), Michael Painter (Regional Vice Chair, North America, USA), Maria Morenos de Rios (Regional Vice Chair, Meso & South America, Ecuador/Spain), Ritu Dhingra (Regional Vice Chair, East and Southern Asia, India), Luc Bas (Regional Vice Chair, Europe, Belgium), Galeo Saintz (Chair, Theme on Environmental Peacebuilding, South Africa), Jennifer (Jing) Tauli Corpuz (Chair, Indigenous People & Environment, Philippines), Melanie Zurba (Chair, Theme on Governance, Equity and Rights, Canada), Neil Dawson (Theme on Human Wellbeing & Sustainable Livelihoods, UK), Jacob Park (Theme on Economics and Regenerative Finance, USA), Emmanuel Nuesiri, (Natural Resource Governance Framework, Cameroon)
- 4. Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM):
 Deputy Commission Chair: Liette Vasseur (Vice President for North America)
 Members of the Steering Committee: Doris Mutta (Vice President for Africa,
 Kenya), Jonathan Hughes (Vice President for Europe, UK), Bernal Herrera
 Fernandez (Vice President for Meso and South America, Costa Rica), Madhav
 Karki (Vice President for Asia, Nepal), Peter Smith (Vice President for Oceania,
 Australia)
- 5. Commission on Education and Communication (CEC):
 Deputy Commission Chair: Margaret Otieno
 Members of the Steering Committee: Katalin Czippan (Strategic Adviser), Cheryl Charles, Co-Chair of #NatureForAll), Ana Valerie Mandri (Regional Vice Chair for North America and the Caribbean), Carlos Estrada (Regional Vice Chair for Mesoamerica), Luis Camargo (Regional Vice Chair for South America), Eva Ndamono Shataa (Regional Vice Chair for Eastern and Southern Africa), Tommy Garnett (Regional Vice Chair for West and Central Africa), Aleksey A. Zavarzin (Regional Vice Chair for Eastern Europe and Central Asia), Firas T. Abd-Alhadi (Regional Vice Chair for West Asia), Hanying Li (Regional Vice Chair for East Asia), Vasanti Ra (Regional Vice Chair South and Southeastern Asia), Daniela Benavides Reiss (Regional Vice Chair for Oceania)

Date and place of the first ordinary meeting of the Council following the 2021 Congress (107th Council Meeting) (Agenda Item 4)

C106/5

The IUCN Council,

On the proposal of the Secretariat,

<u>Accepts</u> to hold the first ordinary meeting of the Council following the 2021 Congress at the Secretariat headquarters in Gland, Switzerland, from 8 to 10 February 2022.

Expenditure authorization for the Secretariat for the first two months of 2022 (Agenda Item 5)		
C106/6	The IUCN Council, On the proposal of the Secretariat, pending the approval of the IUCN Budget 2022 during the 107 th Council meeting (February 2022), Decides to grant its provisional approval of expenditure authority to the Director General for the first two months of 2022 not exceeding the average monthly operating expenditure of the previous year +10%.	
Registre du Commerce (Agenda Item 6)		
C106/7	The IUCN Council, In order to comply with relevant legal and administrative requirements of the Registre du commerce, Decides to inform the Canton de Vaud that	
	Ms Razan Al Mubarak, Member of Council and President of IUCN has the authority of Council to sign jointly on behalf of IUCN. ³	
	04 40 2024	

01.10.2021

³ In addition to Nihal Welikala, Member of Council and Treasurer of IUCN and Norbert Bärlocher, Member of Council, who have the authority of Council to sign jointly on behalf of IUCN on the basis of Council decision C91/5 (10 September 2016).