

WORLD HERITAGE PANEL

December 2021

IUCN's formal role under the World Heritage Convention is to provide the highest quality of objective technical advice on nature to the World Heritage Committee. Established by the Director General of IUCN, the IUCN World Heritage Panel is essential to this role. Panel Members listed below serve in an individual capacity on the panel for the 2021-2022 cycle. Detailed <u>Terms of Reference</u> are publicly available.

2021-2022 PANEL

Panel Chairs (non-voting)

Tim Badman (chair) Director, IUCN World Heritage Programme

Peter Shadie (co-chair) Senior Advisor, IUCN World Heritage Programme

Panel Members

Axel Hochkirch IUCN Species Survival Commission

Marina Cracco IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management

Youssouph Diedhiou Protected Areas Officer, IUCN West and Central Africa Regional Office

Barbara Engels IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas

Lovísa Ásbjörnsdóttir Freelance consultant Cyril F. Kormos Vice Chair for World Heritage, IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas Executive Director, Wild Heritage

Jamili Nais Director/CEO, Sabah Parks Board

John Waithaka IUCN-WCPA Regional Vice-Chair East and Southern Africa

Josephine Langley Freelance consultant

Estuardo Solórzano Freelance consultant