WCPA Awards

Nyaradzo Auxillia Hoto of the all-female International Anti-Poaching Foundation (IAPF) Akashinga Ranger team (Zimbabwe), winner of the 2022 International Ranger Award

As the leading global network of Protected and Conserved Areas professionals in the world, WCPA recognizes individuals and organizations for their dedication and achievements to conservation. WCPA offers five awards:

Kenton R. Miller Award for Innovation in National Parks and Protected Area Sustainability

The Kenton R. Miller Award will recognise individuals who have clearly demonstrated innovation in relation to protected areas. Specifically, it will recognise persons who have developed and applied innovative policies, scientific knowledge, technologies, field practice or governance that hold promise to significantly increase the potential for sustainability of protected areas with demonstrable impact at local, national, or international levels.

Fred Packard Award: Outstanding service to Protected Areas

The Fred Packard Award is named for the individual who served as Secretary to the Commission in the early years, especially during the early 1970's when the Commission was hardly alive.

The Packard Award is now presented by WCPA to individuals or groups to recognize outstanding service to protected areas. The award includes a certificate. Cash prizes are issued in certain circumstances. Nominations can be accepted for any individual (or group of individuals) who has carried out his/her duties in the service of protected areas above and beyond the call of duty. 

IUCN WCPA International Ranger Award

This award recognises the remarkable work of rangers in protected areas around the world. Hosted by the IUCN and the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas, in collaboration with the International Ranger Federation, Re:wild, Conservation Allies, and WWF Tigers Alive Initiative, these awards are intended to improve rangers’ capabilities, raise awareness about the critical role they play in conservation efforts, and help share rangers’ unique stories and perspectives. Winners of the IUCN WCPA International Ranger Award receive a unique uniform patch along with a US$10,000 for their associated organisation to support their work. 

Pathfinder Award for innovation in nature conservation

The Pathfinder Award is designed to recognise outstanding solutions for protected and conserved areas developed and implemented by individuals, organisations or groups.

UNDP and IUCN have partnered to highlight these success stories and ensure that these solutions received global attention and recognition. The award is also supported by the contributions of several partners and funders through projects that are helping to identify and communicate biodiversity conservation solutions.

WCPA Chair Award

This award recognizes members of WCPA who have provided exceptional and dedicated leadership and service to the Commission.